University Profile

Who we are

Messege from Vice ChancellorJaramogi Oginga Odinga University of Science and Technology (JOOUST) is a centre of excellence in training, research and community outreach services offering practical and market oriented courses.

The University is a premier institution of higher learning offering relevant and quality market driven academic programmes for steering Socio-economic development. The University is strategically located at the quiet serene beaches of Lake Victoria and focuses on the development of Kenya’s cultural heritage through the utilization of the vast natural resources for academic advancement and research purposes premised on improving the socio-economic status of communities.

Prof. Stephen G. Agong’, PHD, FAAS - Vice Chancellor

The beacon in training, research and sustainable development.

To provide quality university education that nurtures creativity and innovation through integrated training, research and community outreach.

Oasis of Knowledge


Training: The University offers market and society-driven academic programmes aimed at producing innovative, practical oriented and job creating graduates at all levels.
Research: The University has created a conducive environment for undertaking high quality, innovative, relevant, discovery based and demand -driven research premised on societal needs.
Outreach Services: The University identifies with the community and participates in activities geared towards improvement of their livelihoods.



  1. Advancement of knowledge through teaching, scholarly research and scientific investigation;

  2. Promotion of learning in the student body and society generally;

  3. Promotion of cultural and social life of society;

  4. Support and contribution to the realization of national economic and social development;

  5. Transfer and commercialize technology from the University and other international institutions to the benefit of students, the University and the industry;

  6. Generate research and innovations outputs with impact on the national development goals;

  7. Promotion of the highest standards in, and quality of, teaching and research;

  8. Education, training and retraining higher level professional, technical and management personnel;

  9. Dissemination of the outcomes of the research conducted by the university to the general community;

  10. Facilitation of life-long learning through provision of adult and continuing education;

  11. Fostering of a capacity for independent critical thinking among its students;

  12. Promotion of gender balance and equality of opportunity among students and employees; and

  13. Promotion of equalization for persons with disabilities, minorities and other marginalized groups.


  1. Provide education directly, or in collaboration with other institutions, and in so doing provide for the integration of teaching, research and effective application of knowledge and skills to the life, work and welfare of the citizens of Kenya;

  2. Participate in scholarly work, the discovery, transmission, utilization, preservation and enhancement of knowledge and to stimulate the intellectual participation of students in the economical, social, cultural, scientific and technological development of Kenya;

  3. Offer continuing professional development courses;

  4. Determine the curriculum and its mode of delivery and to specify the admission criteria;

  5. Conduct examinations for and to grant and confer such academic awards as may be provided for in the Act and the Statutes;

  6. Establish new colleges, faculties, schools, institutes, departments, other resource and administrative units and centres; and

  7. Promote the general welfare of staff and students;


  1. The members of the University are─
    1. the Chancellor;
    2. the Chairman of Council;
    3. the members of Council;
    4. the Vice-Chancellor;
    5. the Deputy Vice-Chancellors;
    6. the Principals of Constituent Colleges;
    7. the Principals of Colleges within the University;
    8. the Registrars;
    9. the University Librarian;
    10. the Finance Officer;
    11. the Chief Legal Officer;
    12. the members of Senate;
    13. the academic staff;
    14. non-teaching members of staff of the university;
    15. the students;
    16. the members of the Alumni Association; and
    17. such other persons declared members of the University by the University Council on the recommendation of Senate.
  2. The members of the University shall enjoy such rights and privileges as may be outlined in the Statutes.